Calling all young professionals, time to get involved!

In recent months I’ve been playing with the idea of joining a Junior Board (JB).  It’s something that I’ve been wanting to do for a while now and working in nonprofit events I’ve always felt that there is more I should be giving back to my community, I guess I felt a little lost as to how to take that initial first step into finding a JB that was a good fit for me.  Luckily, a great opportunity came to me by chance.

A friend of mine from college was presented the idea to start a JB from his Aunt who is on the board at Saint Joseph Hospital here in Chicago.  She has been pushing for the creation for a JB for sometime now and was given the OK to get the ball rolling 6 months ago.  When I heard this I knew I immediately wanted to get involved. I figured what better way to give back then to use my experiences in nonprofit event planning to help a brand new Junior Board get its fundraising start.

I’ve been with the board for a little over 2 months now and the experience has been so wonderful.  It really gives great insight into what goes into planning an event with little, or in our case, no budget.  It truly forces you to step outside of your comfort zone and gives you so much more inspiration when asking for sponsorships and donations then I could have imagined.  I’ve always felt like nonprofit work is where I would end up and this Junior Board has really reinforced that in me.  It is an indescribable feeling to see your work in action, knowing you are raising money for a great organization with such a large impact. Even in the most stressful times, it’s important to remember your overall goal and who you will be helping in the end.  That right there is more than enough motivation for anyone to make a few calls for support.

The past month and a half we have been working hard for our next event on May 7, a Kentucky Derby Fundraiser which will be complete with bow-ties, extravagant hats, and of course an open bar.   The event will be hosted at Mrs. Murphy’s and Sons Irish Bistro in Lakeview from 4-7pm, tickets can be purchased at http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/169221 (couldn’t finish up without a little event marketing!)

If you’re interested in joining a JB, take a look  here (just a quick Google search for Chicago).  My suggestion, narrow a list of 5 or so JB in your area, take a look at their website and decide if its a good fit for you.  If it is, attend a meeting and get involved, not only is it a great way to serve your community but it also allows you to meet young professionals with similar interests.

-Katie

Leave a Reply

